Hong Kong Green School Guide

Share Email Print smaller bigger

Schools are responsible for a significant portion of the community’s environmental impacts. In areas ranging from the resources used in the construction of the school building to the energy used to operate them, greener schools can alleviate the overall impacts on the environment. Green schools can also help raise community awareness of environmental stewardship. In order to support schools in becoming greener, the Hong Kong Green Building Council (HKGBC) had commissioned the Business Environment Council Limited (BEC) to develop the Hong Kong Green School Guide, targeting primary and secondary schools in Hong Kong.

Objectives of the Guide

This Guide aims to provide comprehensive step-by-step guidance to school decision makers on how schools can go green, and fill the information gap in this area in Hong Kong. This Guide introduces a collection of ideas and resources for relevant personnel regarding the design, construction and operation of environmentally responsible school buildings.

Who Should Read This Guide
The target audience includes policy makers, decision makers, stakeholders and beneficiaries, including school boards, principals, teachers, students, school administrators, parents and school building-related professionals.

School Buildings Targeted
The Guide is primarily targeted at primary and secondary schools in Hong Kong but some portions may be useful for kindergarten level schools as well. School building designs in Hong Kong are diverse. The school forms range from the rectangle-shaped “matchbox” in the 1970s’ to the “post-millennium” schools of the mid-2000s, as indicated in Figure 4. As school designs and conditions vary, it is important to understand that the solutions mentioned in this Guide may not be “one-size-fits-all” for implementation of green initiatives.

The printed version of the Hong Kong Green School Guide has been distributed to local primary and secondary schools in March 2013. The Electronic version of the Guide can be downloaded through the following links:

 English version


Chinese version


Amendment Notice
For the Chinese printed version, the term “3千度電力” in line 7 of Section 3.1.6 Green Roof on page 48 should be amended as “3度電力”.

香港學校綠建指南

分享 電子郵件 列印 字體正常 字體放大

作為社區的一部份,學校對環境有著重要影響。由興建校舍所用的資源,至學校營運需要的能源,較符合綠色建築理念的學校能減低對環境的影響之餘,同時有助提升社會環保意識。 為支持綠建學校,香港綠色建築議會委託商界環保協會為本港的中小學校制定 《香港學校綠建指南》。

本指南的製作目的

本指南旨在為學校決策者提供全面及簡單易明的指引,指導學校推行綠化,亦填補香港現時在這方面知識的不足。本指南為相關人士提供設計、興建及營運 環保校舍的建議及資源。

閱讀對象
本指南的閱讀對象包括政策制定者、決策者、持分者和受益者,當中有校董會、校長、教師、學生、學校行政人員、家長及學校建築相關專業人士。

適用的學校建築
本指南主要針對本港的中小學,但若干範疇的資訊亦值得幼稚園參考。以類別而言,本港校舍的設計多元化。如圖4所示,校舍設計包括1970年代的 長方形「火柴盒」設計,以至2000年代中期的「後千禧學校」。由於學校設計 及狀況不同,讀者應明白本指南列出的環保措施,並不能一概而論適用於所有學校。

 

香港學校綠建指南的印刷版已於2013年3月派送到本地中小學。各界亦可透過以下連結下載《香港學校綠建指南》的電子版。

 英文版本


中文版本


Amendment Notice
For the Chinese printed version, the term “3千度電力” in line 7 of Section 3.1.6 Green Roof on page 48 should be amended as “3度電力”.