About Green Building

Share Print smaller bigger

What is Green Building?

Many may consider a green building as a building that comes with green walls and solar panels to beautify and protect the environment. It is way more than that. Green building is a multi-disciplinary subject and has a profound impact on us.

Generally speaking, green building is a practice of reducing the environmental impact of buildings and enhancing the health and wellbeing of building occupants by:

  • Planning throughout the life-cycle of a building or a community, from masterplanning and siting to design, construction, operation, maintenance, renovation, and demolition with a focus on the impact to both the environment and people.
  • Optimising efficient use of energy, water, and other resources to avoid overconsumption and adopting the use of renewable energy and eco-friendly materials to minimise carbon footprint and emission.
  • Reducing the production of waste and preventing pollution of areas like water, air, noise and land.
  • Enhancing indoor environmental quality through natural ventilation and lighting as well as good indoor air quality by design and other means.

 

Hong Kong Context

One of the world’s most iconic cities, Hong Kong is famous for its unique subtropical built environment of high-rise, high density urban areas, juxtaposed with a large expanse of hilly and mountainous terrain. For many decades it has been one of the world’s most densely populated places, with the majority of its more than 7.3 million residents living and working in urban skyscrapers.

Today, as industrial manufacting is no longer a major economic activity in Hong Kong, the major source of electricity consumption is buildings like housing estates, officies and malls. Building-related activities account for some 90% of Hong Kong’s total electricity consumption, compared to a global average of 40%. In turn, this high level of energy consumption by buildings accounts for 60% of the city’s greenhouse gas emissions. It is obvious, therefore, that green buildings play a crucial role in achieving energy savings in Hong Kong, as well as the global target set by the Paris Agreement.

Our activities in buildings account for 90% of electricity consumption or 60% of carbon emission in Hong Kong

42,000+ buildings in private sector

8,000 high-rise buildings and skyscrapers

People live and work in
24% of Hong Kong's total area

Average population density of built-up areas reaches
27,330 persons/km2

 

 

Green Building Certification

Globally, there are a number of localised green building certification systems, which are independent tools that could showcase and compare the environmental performance of buildings, such as BREEAM for United Kingdom and LEED for United States. In Hong Kong, BEAM Plus is the current assessment tool adopted in the market.

BEAM Plus is a locally developed assessment system, embracing a wide range of sustainability issues and covering the full building life cycle. The HKGBC is the certification body, with BEAM Society Limited undertaking the assessment process. 

From 1 April 2011 onwards, certification by BEAM Plus becomes one of the pre-requisites in applying for GFA concessions.  An overall cap of 10% of the total GFA of a development site is set.  

You may know more about BEAM Plus here.

 

Green Building Council and Worldwide Green Building Movement

A green building council of a country / territory is usually a not-for-profit, independent, member-based, industry driven organisation. By bringing the industry together, a green building council is the overarching body driving the sustainable development in the local built environment.

As a comprehensive strategy of driving market transformation, a green building council will put in place specific education and awareness programmes to build up the skills of the industry and shift the behaviours and mindsets of both the public and the professionals. It will also work in close partnership with the local government to help develop public policies and initiatives that will speed up the transformation towards a sustainable built environment.

A green building council may join the global network organised by the World Green Building Council (WorldGBC). Currently HKGBC is the Established Member of the WorldGBC (highest level of membership) since November 2012. HKGBC has also joined the WorldGBC Directorship to set the straegies to promote green building development globally.

Loading...

關於綠色建築

分享 列印 字體正常 字體放大

甚麼是綠色建築?

不少人認為綠色建築只是代表在建築中加設綠化外牆或太陽能板,從而做到美化及保護環境。事實上,綠色建築所牽涉到的範疇十分廣泛,影響亦相當深遠。

一般而言,綠色建築指在建築物的整個生命週期中,盡量減少對環境影響,同時也可促進建築物用戶的身心健康:

  • 策劃建築物生命週期每一項細節,由一幢建築物或一整個社區的選址及規劃開始,到設計、施工程序,落成後的營運管理和保養,以至建築物的翻新和拆卸,都關注對環境及人的影響

  • 節能、節水及善用其他資源,避免浪費;同時亦會從運用可再生能源及環保建材等方面着手,減少碳足印及碳排放

  • 減少產生廢物,以及污水、空氣、聲音、土地等方面污染

  • 藉設計等方法做到自然通風、自然採光、提升室內空氣質素等,為用戶提供良好的室內環境

 

香港的獨特環境

香港舉世知名,是個位處亞熱帶、地勢山多不平、人煙稠密且高樓處處的都市,一直以來更是全球人口密度最高的地方之一,逾730萬人口大部分都起居於「石屎森林」之間。

另一方面,由於香港製造業已經式微,所以本港大部分用電均來自居所、辦公室、商場等日常建築物。與建築物的相關的活動就已經佔了全港耗電量的九成,比國際間平均的四成為多,而此耗電水平更相等於全港碳排放的六成。因此,香港要節能減排,甚至要達成《巴黎協議》下的目標,推動綠色建築發展實屬刻不容緩。

 

與建築物的相關的活動就已經佔全港耗電量的90%,相等於碳排放的60%

私營業界的建築物超過42,000幢

高樓及摩天大廈約8,000幢

日常起居的已建設區佔香港土地面積24%

已建設區平均人口密度為每平方公里27,330人

 

綠色建築認證

不少地方都有為本土而設的綠色建築認證系統,以中立的工具展示及比較建築物的環保表現,例如英國的BREEAM、美國的LEED等,而香港現行的綠色建築認證系統為「綠建環評」。

綠建環評是香港本地研發的一套建築環境評估制度,涵蓋廣泛的可持續發展議題及完整建築生命週期。香港綠色建築議會為頒授認證的機構,並由建築環保評估協會執行綠色建築的評估。

由2011年4月1日開始,綠建環評認證成為發展項目的環保及完善生活設施獲批總樓面面積寬免的其中一項新增先決條件。經評估的項目,最高可獲寬免總樓面面積一成。

如欲了解綠建環評詳情,請按此

 

綠色建築議會和世界綠色建築運動

一個國家或地區的綠色建築議會通常是業界主導的非牟利、獨立和會員制組織。透過團結業界,綠色建築議會可發揮統籌和推動當地建築可持續發展的功能。

綠色建築議會制訂推動市場轉型的整體策略,並擔當起教育和宣傳活動的責任,協助業界發展相關的技術之餘,亦令公眾和專業人士潛移默化,帶動思維和行為改變。綠色建築議會又與當地政府緊密合作,協助推出各種公共政策,促進社會朝可持續建築環境的目標發展。

綠色建築議會亦可透過成為世界綠色建築委員會的會員,從而加強與世界各地綠色建築組織的連繫。自2012年11月起,香港綠色建築議會已成為該會最高規格之正式會員。香港亦曾參與世界綠色建築委員會之董事會,在國際層面為綠色建築發展出謀獻策。