GreenMAG Plus+ (Mar 2018)

Share Print smaller bigger


New World Group Announced Green Finance Framework & Successful Raising of First Green Loan


Feed-in Tariff Expected to Boost Clean Power Generation
New WorldGBC Report Presents Global Evidence on Tangible Benefits of Green Buildings
Gaining Momentum of Turning Where You Work Green
Green Shop CONNECT: Bridge You Up with the Hong Kong Green Shop Alliance
Engagement with the Youths

New World Group Announced Green Finance Framework & Successful Raising of First Green Loan

Green financing is a global trend and both the mainland China Government and Hong Kong Government are actively promoting it. Echoing the “New World Sustainability Vision 2030”, New World Group established a “Green Finance Framework” to enable the usage of green loans/bonds to fund quality buildings with green and healthy features in Hong Kong and Mainland China. New World Development Company Limited, New World China Land Limited and K11 Group Limited are covered by this Framework.

The Framework references the requirements of Green Bond Principles 2017 in setting project eligibility criteria including green building certification, energy efficiency and renewable energy, water and waste management and climate change adaptation. The inaugural transaction was Hong Kong’s first green loan for the Group’s King’s Road commercial redevelopment project, which has achieved multiple top-level sustainability building certifications:

  • Hong Kong BEAM Plus (Provisional Platinum Certification)
  • US LEED (Platinum Pre-certification)
  • The world’s first WELL Building StandardTM (Platinum Pre-certification)

“The King’s Road project will set the benchmark for future sustainable buildings. In addition to green designs, we actively consider how our built environment could promote the wellbeing of building users. We are excited to support green financing alongside the Hong Kong Government and mainland China Government by launching the Framework and securing our first green loan for this innovative project,” said Adrian Cheng, Executive Vice-chairman and General Manager of New World Development.

External review was conducted on the exercise such as obtaining a “Second-Party Opinion” on the Framework from Sustainalytics, an independent sustainability research and rating company, and a “Green Finance Certificate” (Pre-issuance) from Hong Kong Quality Assurance Agency on the green loan.

 

About “New World Sustainability Vision 2030”:

Inspired by the unique brand personality The Artisanal Movement, New World Group enriches the modern living culture with sustainability. “New World Sustainability Vision 2030” references the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals and steers the Group to curate an artisanal customer experience with the elements of “GREEN”, “WELLNESS”, “SMART” and “CARING”. Together, we ignite the transformation for a life well-lived.

 

Back to top

Feed-in Tariff Expected to Boost Clean Power Generation
Large scale renewable energy system with capacity similar to the one at the rooftop of Electrical and Mechanical Services Department Headquarters could enjoy feed-in tariff of HK$3 for each unit.
Corporations with targets on operating with
renewable energy such as Apple Inc.
could purchase renewable energy
certificate to offset the carbon footprint.

The Environment Bureau revealed the implementation details of initiatives on renewable energy and energy efficiency under the new Scheme of Control Agreements with the two power companies in town, including the much-anticipated feed-in tariff scheme, in the paper recently submitted to Panel on Environmental Affairs of Legislative Council.

The feed-in tariff is eligible for any non-governmental bodies or individuals who installed distributed solar photovoltaic or wind renewable energy system that is connected to the grid. The rate would be dependent on the capacity of the facility – HK$5 each unit for systems with a capacity below 10kW like most such system installed at rooftop of village houses, and HK$3 for system with a larger capacity between 200kW and 1MW. Systems with a capacity exceeding 1 MW will be considered on a case-by-case basis. The Bureau estimates a payback period of less than 10 years for installation and maintenance costs of the systems under such proposed rate.

Meanwhile, renewable energy certificate would be available for sale by power companies for units of electricity from local renewable energy sources. These certificates allow companies, organisations and properties that could not install renewable energy systems to purchase clean energy generated elsewhere in order to offset the carbon footprint from daily operations and show support for local renewable energy development.

Application of the feed-in tariff scheme of CLP and HK Electric will open from 4 May and 1 September respectively, while renewable energy certificates will be available in the coming October and November as well.

The two power companies will also set up new community energy saving funds to assist disadvantaged groups to replace or purchase energy efficient electrical appliances. Additional programmes to be implemented by CLP in 2019 include funding support for schools and NGOs to apply for BEAM Plus Existing Buildings certification to promote green building adoption, with further details to be announced in mid-2018.

 

Back to top

New WorldGBC Report Presents Global Evidence on Tangible Benefits of Green Buildings
Henderson Land’s residential project “Double Cove” is one
of the featuring cases, with a score of 97% for overall
satisfaction from residents, featuring various green designs.

The World Green Building Council has launched a new report on 24 April titled “Doing Right by Planet and People: The Business Case for Health and Wellbeing in Green Building”. The report highlights tangible economic benefits of green building and showcases improved occupant satisfaction when companies implement new health, wellbeing and productivity features in existing green structures. The HKGBC participated in the study as an Advisory Committee member.

Case studies of 11 green facilities around the globe have been examined in the report, while Henderson Land Development Company Limited’s mixed-use residential project “Double Cove” is the only one from Hong Kong. The report evaluates health and wellbeing features that were integrated into the facilities, such as: enhanced fresh air ventilation, acoustic privacy, increase of daylight penetration and use of biophilic design elements such as green walls and extensive indoor plants.

The report offers following insights and urges companies to make green improvements of their buildings:

The biggest economic benefit are realised when impacts to the environment and people are addressed jointly from the start of the building design and a clear direction to achieve key metrics such as improving air quality without sacrificing energy efficiency is set.
Achievements in energy and greenhouse gas emissions reduction coming from on-site renewable energy systems can be incorporated with no negative impact on the design for occupants.
Employees prefer and work best when they are in spaces with ample natural light, good air quality and access to greenery and amenities.
The largest improvements in employee satisfaction happen when staff are engaged in co-designing their new green and healthy workspaces.

The report is part of WorldGBC's Better Places for People campaign, which support GBCs and their members to increase the demand and supply of green buildings which are supportive of the health, wellbeing and productivity of the people within them. The HKGBC has been involved in several reports by providing input and advice as well as case studies to the project.

Back to top

Gaining Momentum of Turning Where You Work Green
Baskerville House, completed in 1970s, is now a
building that conforms with the latest green existing
building standard after a series of upgrading works.

Office buildings of different ages can turn green! Built in the 1970s, Baskerville House has recently achieved Excellent grade under Energy Use aspect of BEAM Plus Existing Buildings V2.0 Selective Scheme. The building has undergone upgrading works, from the conventional air-cooled to water-cooled chillers, and from T8 fluorescent tube to more energy-efficient T5 lights. Thanks to the efforts of the property management team, old buildings can stay green!

Other office buildings of Swire Properties have also just achieved Final Platinum ratings under BEAM Plus Existing Buildings V2.0, including Cityplaza One, Dorset House and PCCW Tower.

Different types of existing buildings can be maintained in their unique green way. Achieving Final Platinum rating under BEAM Plus Existing Buildings V2.0, HKEX Data Centre has its way to keep the building green. A data centre hosts high-density servers with high power consumption and heat generation, which in turn require continuous cooling for the IT facilities. Apart from enhancing energy efficiency, refrigerants of lower global warming potential are also used at HKEX Data Centre to do less harm to ozone depletion. Moreover, more efficient cooling towers are installed in the building so that less fresh water is consumed to make up the evaporative loss from cooling.

Last but not least, HKGBC’s renovated office has achieved Platinum rating under BEAM Plus Interiors! To cope with our evolving needs in operations and enhancing health and wellbeing of colleagues, we have re-designed the space so that most of the colleagues can have views to outside at their workstations, with indoor plants remain as partitions. We have also adopted an automated lighting system. Most of the lightings will turn off during non-office hours such as lunch breaks, while staff could still control the lighting of their own workstation through a mobile app. The well-performing system and the energy efficient lighting fixtures have saved us nearly 50% of electricity consumption.

An automated lighting system installed at HKGBC office
enables staff to adjust the lighting of workstation
for their own working schedule through a mobile app.
HKEX Data Centre is the first-ever data center in town
achieving certification under BEAM Plus Exisiting
Buildings category.

Back to top

Green Shop CONNECT: Bridge You Up with the Hong Kong Green Shop Alliance

After the recent launch of official website and Facebook page, the Hong Kong Green Shop Alliance (HKGSA) has just published its first e-newsletter Green Shop CONNECT this month. Apart from the latest news and action from the HKGSA, Green Shop CONNECT would also share green shopping tips and feature articles on interesting topics. Our Alliance members and NGO partners will also share best practices and provide updates on the latest initiative of different stakeholders in jointly creating a green shopping environment. Readers are, of course, encouraged to be part of the strong alliance as well.

Just read your latest edition of Green Shop CONNECT here and be a subscriber to get the latest updates of HKGSA.

 

Back to top

Engagement with the Youths
GB Faculty members Dr Benny Chow (left photo) and Ms Grace Kwok (right photo) are invited as guest lecturers at OUHK to share professional green building knowledge to the students.
Students learn about the career opportunities and
work-life moments from aspiring professionals and
veterans in the industry during the sharing session.
 

A total of 21 tertiary students from seven universities have joined a sharing session on 27 March to learn more about the career opportunity on green building industry as well as the HKGBC Student Membership. Two young green building consultants, Ms Karen Shi and Mr Johnathan Tong from Allied Environmental Consultants Limited and ARUP, together with our Immediate Past Chairman Sr Wong Bay shared how they started their career in the green building industry and the work-life moments. The students actively grasped the opportunity to exchange ideas with our guests.

Separately, GB Faculty members Ms Grace Kwok May-han and Dr Benny Chow Ka-ming were invited to be the guest lecturers to around 50 students enrolled in the course “Design and Management for Green Buildings and Facilities” at the Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) on 19 March and 9 April respectively. The guest lectures provided an eye-opening experience to the students, equipping them with the latest industry knowledge on green building development.

Education and engagement with students are essential to promote green building development. All full-time students with valid student identity are eligible for the free HKGBC Student Membership. Students are welcome to join us now via our website.

Back to top

[END]

Loading...

GreenMAG Plus+ (2018年4月號)

分享 列印 字體正常 字體放大


新世界集團宣布推出綠色金融框架 成功批出首筆綠色貸款


「上網電價」出爐 力推可再生能源發展
世界綠色建築委員會最新報告:環球個案證綠色建築實質好處
商廈、辦公室綠不停
《Green Shop CONNECT》連結香港綠建商舖聯盟最新資訊
後生仔傾吓偈:助大專同學認識綠建新發展

新世界集團宣布推出綠色金融框架 成功批出首筆綠色貸款

綠色金融為全球大勢所趨,中國及香港政府正積極推廣。響應「新世界2030可持續發展願景」,新世界集團推出「綠色金融框架」,讓新世界發展有限公司、新世界中國地產有限公司及K11 Group Limited可藉綠色貸款或債券於香港和內地投資具環保及健康元素的優質建築項目。

框架參照《綠色債券原則(2017年版)》制定合資格項目的標準,範疇包括綠色建築認證、能源效益、可再生能源、水資源和廢物管理以及氣候變化應對措施。首宗交易是全港首筆綠色貸款,並用於集團英皇道商業重建項目。項目獲多項頂級可持續發展建築認證:

  • 香港綠建環評 BEAM Plus(暫定鉑金級認證)
  • 美國《領先能源與環境設計》LEED (鉑金級預認證)
  • 全球首個WELL 建築標準TM(鉑金級預認證)

新世界發展有限公司執行副主席兼總經理鄭志剛表示:「英皇道商業重建項目將為日後的可持續發展建築定下新標準。我們不但在綠色設計上屢創新高,更致力發揮工匠精神,為用家打造照顧身心健康與福祉的建築環境。隨著推出此框架及批出第一筆綠色貸款予這個創新項目,我們很高興能與香港和内地政府攜手支持綠色金融的發展。」

框架內容已由獨立可持續發展研究及評級機構Sustainalytics 審閱,並獲其「第二意見書」,而此筆綠色貸款亦獲香港品質保證局頒發「綠色金融認證」發行前證書。

 

 

 

關於「新世界2030可持續發展願景」:

啟發自獨特品牌個性「The Artisanal Movement」,新世界集團以可持續發展提升當代生活文化。「新世界2030可持續發展願景」參考聯合國可持續發展目標,引領集團打造具「環保」「健康」「智能」「關愛」元素的匠心顧客體驗,一同燃亮態度人生

 

返回頁頂

「上網電價」出爐 力推可再生能源發展
與機電工程署總部屋頂機組發電容量相約的大型可再生能源系統,每度電上網電價為3元。
蘋果公司一類要求以可再生能源營運的企業,
可藉購買可再生能源證書抵銷碳排放。

環境局日前向立法會環境事務委員會提交文件,闡述與本港兩間電力公司所簽訂的新利潤管制協議下,為推動可再生能源及能源效益等發展的相關措施,討論多時的「上網電價」細節亦正式出爐。

上網電價計劃為任何安裝太陽能或風能分布式可再生能源系統的非政府機構及個人而設。系統如接駁至電力公司的電網,電力公司就可按系統發電容量的大小回購所產電力。村屋屋頂太陽能板一類發電容量10 千瓦以下的裝置,每度電可售5元,至於產電200 千瓦至1兆瓦的系統回購價為每度電3元,容量超過1兆瓦則將按個別情況考慮。局方預料訂價可令再生能源系統擁有者於大約十年內收回成本及運作等開支。

與此同時,電力公司將就每度產自可再生能源的電力出售可再生能源證書。未能直接安裝可再生能源設備的企業、機構或物業,可透過購買證書證明營運的電力來自可再生能源,從而抵銷碳排放,並推動本地可再生能源發展。

中電及港燈的上網電價計劃分別由5月4日及9月1日起接受申請,而可再生能源證書則分別於10月及11月起有售。

另外,兩間電力公司亦將各自成立新的「社區節約能源基金」,資助有需要社群更換或購置更具能源效益的電器,其中中電將在2019年推出額外計劃,協助學校及非政府機構支付申請綠建環評既有建築認證的費用,以推廣綠色建築,項目細節預料將於2018年年中公布。

 

返回頁頂

世界綠色建築委員會最新報告:環球個案證綠色建築實質好處
恒基旗下住宅項目「迎海」為11個環球案例之一,當中的綠色
設計令住戶滿意度高達97%。

世界綠色建築委員會於4月24日發表最新報告《Doing Right by Planet and People: The Business Case for Health and Wellbeing in Green Building》,除了探討綠色建築的實質商業價值外,亦顯示加入可增進用家身心健康及生產力的元素後令人滿意度大增的案例。香港綠色建築議會在是次研究中為諮詢委員會一員。

報告研究環球11個綠色建築個案,其中香港個案為恒基兆業地產有限公司旗下混合發展住宅項目「迎海」。報告將各個案中可促進身心健康的設計特色一一加以分析,包括加強空氣流通、阻隔噪音提升私隱度、增加日光照射,以及垂直綠化和室內種植等融合大自然的設計。

經研究後,報告得出下列要點,希望藉此鼓勵企業為建築物「變綠」:

只有在建築物設計初期關注對環境與人的影響,同時訂下達成主要準則的明確方向(如改善空氣質素同時兼顧能源效益),方可得到最好的經濟效益。
在建築中加入可再生能源設備以達成節能減排目標,不會影響為用戶而設的設計。
員工偏好於天然光線充足、空氣質素良好及容易接觸綠化和各項設施的空間工作,工作表現亦會因此達致最好。
員工若可參與設計綠色及健康的工作空間,其滿意度可大大提升。

是次報告是世界綠色建築委員會「Better Places for People」全球運動的成果之一。運動藉提出綠色建築可提升用戶的身心健康及生產力,支持各地綠色建築議會及會員促進綠色建築市場供求發展。議會在當中所發表的數份報告均有參與其中,積極提供意見及個案供各界參考。

返回頁頂

商廈、辦公室綠不停
建於1970年代的樂成行憑藉設施提升工程,成為符合最新
綠建要求的既有建築。

不論樓齡,辦公大樓都可以變得更綠!建於1970年代的樂成行最近獲得綠建環評既有建築2.0版自選評估計劃中「能源範疇」的卓越評級。大廈進行了設施提升工程,包括由傳統的氣冷式空調系統轉用更環保的水冷式空調系統,以及更換T8光管為更節能的T5照明。全賴物業管理團隊的功勞,舊樓都可以「長青」!

此外,再有太古地產旗下的商業大廈獲得綠建環評既有建築2.0版最終鉑金級認證,包括太古城中心一座、多盛大廈及電訊盈科中心。

不同類型的現存建築物都可以有其一套的變綠方法,例如香港交易所數據中心獲得了綠建環評既有建築2.0版最終鉑金級認證。數據中心一般備有大量伺服器,耗電量高並產生大量熱力,因此需要不斷持續冷卻相關設施。為此,香港交易所數據中心除了提升能源效益外,亦使用低全球暖化潛勢(Global Warming Potential)的雪種,減緩對臭氧層的破壞,又安裝了更具效益的冷卻塔,從而減少填補蒸發所用的淡水。

另外,香港綠色建築議會亦以身作則,為九龍塘的辦公室取得綠建環評室內建築的鉑金級!為配合議會運作,同時促進議會同事的身心健康,工作間經重新布置,令大部份同事都可從自己的工作間欣賞窗外景色,並保留了室內植物作為間隔。辦公室又將照明系統自動化,設定在午飯時間等非辦公時間自動關掉大部分照明,但同事仍可以用手機應用程式調節工作位置的照明開關,做到「自己燈光自己校」。新系統與節能燈具合共為議會節省了近五成的用電,成果顯著。

香港綠色建築議會辦公室裝設自動化照明系統,員工可按
個人工作需要,以手機應用程式控制工作位置的照明開關
時間。
香港交易所數據中心是首個取得綠建環評既有建築評級的
數據中心項目。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

返回頁頂

《Green Shop CONNECT》連結香港綠建商舖聯盟最新資訊

官方網頁Facebook專頁後,香港綠建商舖聯盟的電子通訊《Green Shop CONNECT》亦已於本月正式推出。《Green Shop CONNECT》除了發放聯盟最新活動及消息外,又會為大家帶來綠色購物貼士及相關專題,聯盟的成員及環保團體和非政府組織等伙伴亦會介紹相關的環保活動與工作,以及在環保管理及營運上的出色案例,希望讀者可全方位了解各界攜手同建綠色購物環境的努力,更可參與當中活動出一分力。

歡迎閱覽最新一期《Green Shop CONNECT》,更可立即訂閱接收更多聯盟最新資訊。

 

返回頁頂

後生仔傾吓偈:助大專同學認識綠建新發展
「綠建專家」委員周家明博士(左圖)及郭美珩(右圖)於香港公開大學擔任客席講師分享專業知識。
同學在分享活動中聚首一堂,與業界後起之秀及前輩互
相交流,了解行業工作點滴。

來自七間大學的21名大專生於3月27日參與議會為同學舉辦的分享活動,了解綠色建築行業的生涯發展及議會的學生會員計劃。活動邀得分別任職沛然環保顧問有限公司及ARUP的兩位年輕顧問Karen Shi 及Johnathan Tong,以及議會上任主席黃比測量師,與同學分享入行經過與工作點滴。同學都相當積極把握機會發問,踴躍與嘉賓交流。

另外,議會「綠建專家」委員郭美珩及周家明博士應邀分別於3月19日及4月9日為約50名就讀香港公開大學「Design and Management for Green Buildings and Facilities」 課程的同學作客席講師,教授有關綠色建築的知識。此客席講座為同學帶來最新綠色建築行業發展資訊,讓同學大開眼界。

議會一直致力與學生交流,從教育新一代着手推動綠色建築發展。任何持有效學生證明文件的全日制學生均符合成為學生會員的資格,費用全免,歡迎同學隨時透過網頁遞交申請。

返回頁頂

[完]