About HKGBC

Share Email Print smaller bigger

The Hong Kong Green Building Council Limited (HKGBC) is a non-profit, member led organisation established in 2009 which strives to promote the standards and developments of sustainable buildings in Hong Kong.  The HKGBC aims to raise green building awareness by engaging the public, the industry and the government, and to develop practical solutions for Hong Kong’s unique, subtropical built environment of high-rise, high density urban area, leading Hong Kong to become a world’s exemplar of green building development.

Our passion for a sustainable built environment is the motivating force to achieve our goals. The wide experience and deep insight of our members and experts is the underlying foundation for real results.

Our Vision
To help save the planet and improve the wellbeing of the people of Hong Kong by transforming the city into a greener built environment.

Our Mission
To lead market transformation by advocating green policies to the Government; introducing green building practices to all stakeholders; setting design, construction and management standards for the building profession; and promoting green living to the people of Hong Kong.

Behind Our Logo
The logo of the HKGBC reflects our position in local green building movement. Inspired by the five-petal white Bauhinia blakeana, the city’s floral emblem, on the flag of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the flower-like design symbolises our role as an overarching body of green building development in Hong Kong.

The design of each petal also resembles aerial view of a tall building. As the five petals group together, they form Hong Kong’s unique built environment of high-rise, high density urban area, while the gradient colour represents the vision of progressive change to a low carbon metropolis.

What is Green Building?
Generally speaking, green building is a practice of reducing the environmental impact of buildings by:
► Planning throughout the life-cycle of a building, from siting to design, construction, operation, maintenance, 
     renovation, and demolition
► Optimising efficient use of energy, water, and other resources
► Reducing waste and pollution

Green Building Council and Worldwide Green Building Movement
A green building council of a country / territory is usually a not-for-profit, independent, member-based, industry driven organisation. By bringing the industry together, a green building council is the overarching body driving the sustainable development in the local built environment.

As a comprehensive strategy of driving market transformation, a green building council will put in place specific education and awareness programmes to build up the skills of the industry and shift the behaviours and mindsets of both the public and the professionals. It will also work in close partnership with the local government to help develop public policies and initiatives that will speed up the transformation towards a sustainable built environment.

A green building council may join the global network organised by the World Green Building Council (WorldGBC). Currently HKGBC is the Established Member of the WorldGBC (highest level of membership) since November 2012. HKGBC has also joined the WorldGBC Directorship from July 2013 to June 2016.

關於香港綠色建築議會

分享 電子郵件 列印 字體正常 字體放大

香港綠色建築議會有限公司創立於2009年,為非牟利會員制組織,致力推動和提升香港在可持續建築方面的發展和水平。本會藉連繫公眾、業界及政府,提高各界對綠色建築的關注,並針對香港位處亞熱帶的高樓密集都會建築環境,制訂各種可行策略,從而帶領香港成為全球綠色建築的典範。

我們熱切追求實現可持續建築環境的目標,而會員和業界專才的豐富經驗和真知灼見,則為切實成果打穩根基。

抱負
為香港締造更綠色的建築環境,從而保護地球,造福香港市民。

使命
為引領市場轉化,致力向政府倡議綠色環境政策,並為各界引入綠色建築作業方式和訂立業界有關設計、建造與管理的專業標準,同時向香港市民推廣綠色生活。

議會標誌的意義
香港綠色建築議會的標誌反映議會在推動本地綠色建築發展的定位,其花狀設計源自香港特別行政區區旗上的白色五瓣市花洋紫荊,體現議會擔當香港代表的角色,統籌全港綠色建築發展。

同時,每片花瓣的設計取自高空俯瞰樓宇的影象,五瓣合組象徵香港獨特的高樓密集都會建築環境,而當中的漸進色調,則寄託令本港逐步進化成「低碳之都」的抱負。

甚麼是綠色建築?
一般而言,綠色建築指減少建築物對環境影響的建築作業模式,當中包括:

► 策劃建築物生命周期每一項細節,包括由建築物選址到設計、施工程序、營運管理,以及建築物的保養、翻新和拆卸
► 善用能源、水及其他資源
► 減少產生廢物和污染

綠色建築議會和世界綠色建築運動
一個國家或地區的綠色建築議會通常是業界主導的非牟利、獨立和會員制組織。透過團結業界,綠色建築議會可發揮統籌和推動當地建築可持續發展的功能。

綠色建築議會制訂推動市場轉型的整體策略,並擔當起教育和宣傳活動的責任,協助業界發展相關的技術之餘,亦令公眾和專業人士潛移默化,帶動思維和行為改變。綠色建築議會又與當地政府緊密合作,協助推出各種公共政策,促進社會朝可持續建築環境的目標發展。

綠色建築議會亦可透過成為世界綠色建築委員會的會員,從而加強與世界各地綠色建築組織的連繫。自2012年11月起,香港綠色建築議會已成為該會最高規格之正式會員。現時,香港亦參與了世界綠色建築委員會之董事會,任期由2013年7月至2016年6月。